Delicious Low-Carb Coffee Milk Shake with Protein

Delicious Low-Carb Coffee Milk Shake with Protein
Delicious Low-Carb Coffee Milk Shake with Protein

My mom had a tooth extracted recently. After that ordeal, I wanted  to provide her with something tasty and easy to eat that would give her a fair amount of protein. So I came up with this recipe! Mom liked it — and so did I. In fact, I’ve had this shake for breakfast myself a few times already! It’s delicious!

INGREDIENTS

1 cup vanilla almond milk (at refrigerator temperature) 1/2 cup  half & half from grass-fed milk (at refrigerator temperature) 1 scoop of whey protein powder (see Ingredient  Notes) Instant coffee (regular or decaf), to taste Maple syrup, just a little, if desired

DIRECTIONS

Place all of the ingredients into a quart-size jar, screw on the lid, and shake the jar until it’s well mixed and a bit frothy.  Pour into individual glasses, with our without ice.

You can make double this recipe in a quart-size jar, and what you don’t drink up right away can be kept for another day or two. Just the lid back on the jar and refrigerate.

Ingredient Notes

  • Whey Protein powder – Milk contains 2 proteins: whey and casein. The protein powder I used, Biochem Ultimate 100% Whey Protein (Natural), contains just whey. in the form of whey protein isolate. It also contains natural french vanilla flavor,  sunflower lecithin, and xanthan gum, and has 22 grams of protein per scoop. There are about 30 scoops in a 24-ounce can. I have found this product at Whole Foods and on Amazon. Any fractionated food like this is not something I would depend on a lot in my diet — but for a small amount of your daily protein, if you like it (and don’t find it too expensive), why not use it?
  • Half and half made from grass-fed cows – The first time I made this shake, I used store-bought half and half. The second time, though, I made my own half and half by mixing  some lovely organic grass-fed heavy cream with organic grass-fed milk (1 part cream to 4 parts whole milk or 1 ounce of heavy cream and 3 ounces of whole milk or 2 tablespoons of heavy cream and 6 tablespoons of whole milk), as explained in the About.com post. Note: By comparison, a cup of ice cream has about 1/2 cup heavy cream in it.

Preparation Note

If you use a quart-size canning jar with measurement markings on the side,  you don’t have to even dirty a measuring cup! They sell such jars by the dozen on Amazon. But I see you can find these for a better price elsewhere, so it might pay to shop around. If you decide to buy these jars, be sure you get the “wide mouth” jars. Wide mouth jars can be used to freeze foods, but the “regular mouth”jars are not good for freezing — they tend to break when defrosting!

Nutrition Note

I used to be a dietitian and all my professional life I told people to avoid foods rich in saturated fat, such as cream. Now I’m giving my mom cream! The field of nutrition is going through a major shift — from backing the low-fat diet (which by necessity is high carb) to finally admitting that nutrition science supports a higher fat (and lower carb) diet. If you want to understand this paradigm shift, check out the new New York Times Bestselling book, The Big Fat Surprise – Why Butter, Meat, Cheese Belong in a Healthy Diet.

Enjoy and be healthy! ~ Leni

2 thoughts on “Delicious Low-Carb Coffee Milk Shake with Protein

  1. Aloha Leni, I met your husband on a flight from DC to CT last week and had a lovely conversation with him about your work as a dietitian/professor/nutrition educator. He kindly mentioned your blog and so here I am :) I am entering my senior year studying dietetics at the University of Hawaii (my boyfriend and I were en route to visit family on the east coast) and think it’s great that you’ve found an outlet for your passions through this blog. Like you, I love cooking and am more interested in pursuing that avenue of nutrition (healing people through food) rather than following AND/USDA (or as I like to say, the US-“duh”!)-endorsed nutrition guidelines that I’m learning in school right now! If you have any words of wisdom for me in relation to the field, I’d love to hear from you! Please feel free to email me at jtobin@hawaii.edu . Best wishes to you!

    1. Aloha Julia, All the best to you! You are entering the field a very good time because now there many voices in the field — not just “US-duh” and ADA and all those other associations with corporate ties. The best advice I can give you is keep an open mind and keep up with the latest on your own (outside of school) like you are doing!

Hey, what have you got to say?

