Cucumber, Avocado, Dill and Anchovy Appetizer

cucumber avocado and anchovyI adore anchovies with their salty, rich umami taste. And they’re high in healthy omega-3 fatty acids, too!

So this Saturday when I got home from a trip to the farmer’s market and the little organic store where I picked up our vegetable CSA, I had anchovies on my brain — and in particular, the little bottle of anchovies that I had bought at the Eastern Market in DC a few months ago when our good friend Linda gave us a tour of that intriguing place.

But what was I going to do with these beautiful little anchovies? Not sure, I perused the refrigerator and ended up grabbing what seemed like a good combination — a ripe avocado and a fresh cucumber. Then I peeked into the freezer and dug out the chopped fresh dill that I had stashed away months ago (wrapped in parchment paper and then inserted into a freezer bag.) Now I had some ingredients I could work with! And the combination proved to be deliciousness heaven!

INGREDIENTS

1/2 long English cucumber (no need to remove the skin as these are not waxed)
Chopped fresh dill (fresh or frozen as described above)
1/2 ripe avocado
3 anchovies, cut into 1/3-to-1/2-inch long pieces

DIRECTIONS

Slice the cucumber. Take one slice of cucumber and touch it to the top of a pile of chopped fresh dill. The dill will adhere to it nicely. On top of the cucumber with dill, place a piece of avocado. As you may be able to see from the photo, I didn’t bother to cut the avocado with a knife. I simply used a spoon to scoop out some avocado. Nothing fancy. Then place a piece of an anchovy on top of the avocado. Repeat with the remaining slices of cucumber. 

Enjoy and be healthy!
~Leni

 

 

4 thoughts on “Cucumber, Avocado, Dill and Anchovy Appetizer

Hey, what have you got to say?

