Can I eat beet greens? Yes, you can!

April 24, 2024 – Post updated with Microwave directions Baby beet greens are a common ingredient in field green salads. But have you ever eaten beet greens from mature beet plants? I must admit that until this weekend, I had not! What a shame — all those beet greens that I threw away could have been enjoyed — and from today on they will be!
Fresh beets from the farmer’s market
Beets – 3 veggies in one
Great Beet Greens – Just microwave them! (updated 2024) Microwaving beet greens is fast, easy and healthy! Here’s how I do it:
  • Select a bunch of beets with fresh looking, smaller sized, beet greens/leaves.
  • Cut the stems off. Wash the stems. Then cut the stems into 1 to 2 inch pieces. Set aside.
  • Cut the leaves and then wash them well. I them around so that the sandy soil dislodges. Then I wash them at least twice more.
  • Place the stems into the bottom of a large microwave-safe bowl. Add the chopped beet greens on top of the stems.
  • Season with salt, pepper, garlic powder (or garlic granules, which I prefer) and onion powder. You can add more salt later, so don’t add a lot now.
  • Cover and microwave on high for two minutes. Stir contents. Then if needed, cover and microwave a little longer.
  • Splash the cooked beet greens with olive oil. Don’t hesitate to use plenty of this healthy oil.
Microwave cooking equipment tip: I always put a plate under the container in my microwave so that the plate can catch any spills. I especially love these plates from Target because they are large and strong and have a bit of a lip to them. In the microwave, the container with the food in it can get hot, sometimes very hot, but this plate will stay cool. So when I want to remove the hot food from the microwave, I hold onto the plate, which acts like a tray. Note: If your microwave is up high and you are not very tall, you might not want to use the plate as a tray. It’s probably more secure to get a grip on the cooking container using protective gloves instead of trying to keep the plate level as you remove it from the microwave oven. BTW, I do not cook any food on these plates as they are plastic. NOTE: Info below is from 2011 post. I’m leaving it here since this is a popular page that people go to year in and year out. How to Cook Beet Greens  Method #1 – Simple sauted beed greens with Homemade Garlicky Olive Oil and lemon.
  1. Cut the stems of the beet greens into bite-size pieces; set aside.
  2. Chop the leaves of the beet greens; set aside.
  3. Heat a little olive or coconut oil in your pan. Add the beet stems and saute until they start to soften.
  4. Then add the chopped beet greens to the pan and saute until they are wilted.
  5. Add a few squirts of fresh lemon juice and sprinkle with grated organic lemon peel.
  6. Drizzle with Homemade Garlicky Olive Oil just before serving or  let each person add as much of they Garlicky Olive Oil as they wish at the table.
Beet Greens Sauteed
Beet Greens Sauteed
Method #2 – Simple steamed beet greens with  Homemade Garlicky Olive Oil and lemon.
  1. Cut the stems of the beet greens into bite-size pieces; set aside.
  2. Chop the leaves of the beet greens; set aside.
  3. Place the cut stems into the steamer basket of your pot (already filled with water for steaming). Bring the water to a boil and cover the pot. Steam the chopped stems for a minute or so.
  4. Add the chopped leaves to the steamer basket (with the stems) and steam for an additional minute or until the leaves have just wilted.
  5. Add a few squirts of fresh lemon juice and sprinkle with grated organic lemon peel.
  6. Drizzle with Homemade Garlicky Olive Oil just before serving or let each person add as much of they Garlicky Olive Oil as they wish at the table.
Steamed Beet Greens
Steamed Beet Greens
How to make steamed beet greens taste great After steaming the greens, let everyone at the table add Homemade Garlicky Olive Oil to his or her portion. Food Safety Tip By the way, not all greens that grow from root veggies are safe to eat. Don’t eat those carrot tops! Enjoy and be healthy! ~Leni

20 thoughts on “Can I eat beet greens? Yes, you can!

  1. Hi Leni, I just bought fresh beets today and thought I would throw away the greens until i read your blog. Thanks for the great idea!!

  2. Leni,
    Just harvested the first few beets that were ready, from my garden today. Craving fresh beets for supper. Didn’t feel right, throwing away the beautiful full leaves. My Google search found you and the fact that we CAN eat them ! I will be using your recipe tonight……
    Dan in CA.

    1. Hi again Dan, How did your beet greens turn out? And by the way, I just made a few slight modifications to the directions for cooking beet greens. Hope it’s helpful. Leni

  3. My beets are not ready for harvest but the tender leafy tops look great. Can I ‘trim” some of the beet greens and eat them now?

    1. Hi Gage, That’s a very good question and sorry, I don’t know the answer. I will ask the gardening experts at the farmer’s market this Saturday and then post their response in a comment. Meanwhile, if anyone reading this knows the answer, please leave your answer in a comment. Thanks! Leni

      1. Hi Gage, I just returned from the farmer’s market. The gardening people were not there today but I spoke with an organic farmer – a young man who knows his farming. He said that if you pick a few leaves, it won’t hurt the beet, but it will slow its growth. Instead, he would recommend that you cut off a few inches from the top of all the beet greens (leaves). You won’t get the stems, but you also won’t slow down the plant’s growth nearly as much. Hope this helps! ~Leni

      2. So take about half the leaf..give them a ‘leaf cut’. Perfect…thank you for your research.

  4. Hi I was wondering if I can juice the beet greens along with the beets? I’m guessing I would be able to since you can eat the greens. But I just wanted to make sure.
    Thank you,
    Nichole

  5. I loved this article. I read your posts pretty regularly and you
    always do a good job articulating the whatever topic you’re
    writing about. Btw, I shared this on LinkedIn and my
    followers loved it. Keep up the great work!

  6. Just made them tonight, they were great. Only thing I did different was after sautéing the stems I saluted chopped onions. I will never throw out beet greens again!

Hey, what have you got to say?